July 2011 Odds To Win NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship

Filed under: NASCAR Betting Odds |

The Sprint Cup Chase for the Cup begins on Sept. 18, with drivers on the NASCAR circuit aiming to be in one of those top-12 positions so that they may have the opportunity to try and compete for the season-long championship.

Of course, if a driver other than one by the name of Jimmie Johnson is going to win, they will have to oust the five-time defending champ.

The latest betting odds for the 2011 Sprint Cup Series believe that that might in fact happen.

Currently Johnson sits in fifth-position on the Sprint Cup Standings, but is second on the odds to win the Sprint Cup title this year. He is behind only Carl Edwards on the overall odds to win the 2011 Sprint Cup Championship.

Edwards led the majority of the season until this past week at Daytona International Speedway. An unimpressive 37th place finish allowed Kevin Harvick to leap Edwards for first place with nine races before the chase for the Sprint Cup begins.

Harvick, despite being the current Sprint Cup points leader, is down to fourth in the latest odds to win the year-long title, at 6/1.

Behind Edwards and tied Johnson is Kyle Busch, at 5/1 to as well.

There is still much to be decided as far as gauging who the top-12 drivers will be at the conclusion of the final races before the start of the chase for the cup in mid-September. With the narrow lead at the top of the standings, Harvick has the potential to hold the top position for less than a week with a poor performance this week, or at any point thereafter.

But at 3/1, it’s Edwards that remains the favorite to win the Sprint Cup, where every $1 risked would profit $3 at the current line. The same goes for the drivers on down the line, with those wagering on Johnson getting a $5 profit for every $1 risked and so on.

Top-10 Odds To Win 2011 Sprint Cup Series Championship – courtesy of Bodog Sportsbook

Carl Edwards 3/1
Jimmie Johnson 5/1
Kyle Busch 5/1
Kevin Harvick 6/1
Denny Hamlin 7/1
Matt Kenseth 8/1
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 10/1
Jeff Gordon 12/1
Kurt Busch 16/1
Tony Stewart 16/1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Connect with Facebook